Missoula County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, consisting of three elected members who serve six-year staggered terms. All legislative, executive and administrative powers and duties of the local government not specifically reserved by law or ordinance to other elected officials reside in the Commission (MCA-7-3-401). The current commissioners on the board are Josh Slotnick (chair), David Strohmaier and Juanita Vero. 

The commissioners are elected at large, but must live in individual Missoula County districts. 

Under such limitations and restrictions as are prescribed by law, the Board of County Commissioners has jurisdiction and power to represent the County and has care of the County property and the management of the business and concerns of the County and to perform all other acts and functions which may be necessary to the full discharge of the duties of the chief executive authority of the county government (MCA-7-5-2101).

The Commissioners' Office staff consists of a chief administrative officer, a chief operating officer and three administrative assistants. Principal functions include providing management and administrative direction to County offices, providing support to the Board of County Commissioners, as requested, implementing policies and decisions, and assisting in the preparation of the County budget.

Commissioner Strohmaier will be up for re-election in November 2022; Slotnick in 2024 and Vero in 2026. 


If you would like to provide public comment to the Missoula Board of County Commissioners, please email